Adapting Multiple

In adapting my blox for multiple, I started by really focusing on what I thought the underlying issues were in the novel.  I had to get in touch with, essentially, horrified me the most about Anderson’s society.  Because I am an objective observer looking at the society without being jaded by the feed like everyone in the novel, I can see what everyone in the novel just ignores.  I thought distinctly of three different things.

The first issue that I can see happening but everyone in the novel is blind to is the fact that only 70% of the population has had a feed installed.  That means that 30% of the population is cut off from what runs society and is essentially suffering and starving.  They are considered unworthy and insignificant to the majority of the world.  Most people (who have feeds) are unaware that there is a portion of the population that does not have the feed.  It is not even something that they consider.

This leads to the second thing that came to mind: the fact that there is a significant amount of people in the world who are starving and going unnoticed.

The third horrifying aspect of Feed is that the world is so toxic to live in now that people are developing lesions all over their bodies.  To compensate for this and deal with it, lesions become a fashion statement to the point that people are getting synthetic lesions surgically implanted onto them.  Instead of addressing the serious medical issue that is a result of the toxic environment, the people in Anderson’s novel mask their anxiety by embracing it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Multiple

Leave a comment