Experiencing Multiple

This was exciting to me with regards to Feed because the underlying theme in the novel is that people are so caught up in the media and their own personal space they inhabit that they are oblivious to the important issues going on in the world.  The same world that they live in.  “Ignorance is bliss” is another way to put it…but is that bliss really a good thing?  That’s what Feed forces the reader to question.  I connected so directly with this theme because often times I get too caught up in my schoolwork, or personal life that I am ignorant of the people who are really suffering and struggling in the world.  I am ignorant of the majority of people in the world who don’t have access to the technology and opportunities that I am exposed to every day.  This frightens me sometimes, which is exactly why Feeed is frightening.  In contemplating this, it helped me focus in on what I wanted to have represented in my blox: which issues stood out to me from the novel that are being ignored.  Which layers of reality are people burying underneath their simplistic world of the feed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Multiple

Leave a comment